Top 25 Texas Education Professors

Education Professor Texas Schools Online

Both nationwide and in Texas, the demand for teachers at all levels remains high. The kindergarten and elementary school teacher industry specifically is expected to grow by 17% between 2010 and 2020. Texas, which employs more teachers than any other state in the union, is in particular need of new teachers with degrees from respected institutions (Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2012).

The University of Texas at Austin – ranked #3 by US News on their list of best Educations schools in the country – Texas A&M, the Texas Woman’s University, and more throughout the state are training the next wave of educators right now. The true worth of an education is defined by the excellence of the professors, however, which spurred the creation of this list. There were many more excellent education professors in Texas, but these 25 truly stand out.

Annette Guerra
Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi

Dr. Guerra recently received a Texas A&M University System Award for Teaching Excellence. She sponsors the Association for Texas Professional Educators, student chapter.

Beth Maloch
University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Maloch recently received the Elizabeth Shatto Massey Award for Excellence in Teacher Education. She is the Associate Dean of Teacher Education, Student Affairs, and Administration at UT Austin.

Brigitte Vittrup
Texas Woman's University

Dr. Vittrup is an Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Development and Education. She was given the 2011-2012 Mary Mason Lyon Award.

Cinthia Salinas
University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Salinas is the Associate Chair of UT Austin’s Curriculum and Instruction program. She received the University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award.

Colleen Swain
University of Texas at Tyler

Dr. Swain earned her PhD from the University of North Texas in 1997. She was recently awarded the 2012 UNT Department of Learning Technologies Outstanding Alumni Award.

Elizabeth Pate
University of Texas at San Antonio

Dr. Pate was honored by the University of Texas System as a recipient of the 2012 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. Her research areas include service-learning and community-based research and conceptual framework of teaching practice.

Georgianna Duarte
University of Texas at Brownsville

Dr. Duarte was honored by the University of Texas System as a recipient of the 2012 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award. Her research areas include play, migrant and international issues in Early Childhood Education.

Holim Song
Texas Southern University

Dr. Song’s research focus is in technology use in the classroom. He recently received the TSU College of Education’s Outstanding Faculty Member Award.

Janet Tareilo
Stephen F. Austin State University

Dr. Tareilo has been named the 2012 Educator of the Year by the SFASU Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa, an international professional association for educators. She earned her EdD from Sam Houston State University in 2004.

Jerome Freiberg
University of Houston

Dr. Jerome Freiberg, John & Rebecca Moores Professor, and Fellow, American Educational Research Association, received the University of Houston Teaching Excellence Career Award. He is director and founder of the Consistency Management & Cooperative Discipline Project.

Joellen E. Coryell
Texas State University

Joellen E. Coryell received the Early Career Award from the Commission of Professors of Adult Education. Dr. Coryell’s research focuses on international cross-cultural adult and higher education and investment in the professional development of adult educators and leaders.

John Lamb
University of Texas at Tyler

Dr. Lamb received the UT Tyler Provost’s Excellence in Teaching Award for 2012. He earned his Ph.D. in Secondary Education from the Mississippi State University.

Joyce Jones
Texas Southern University

Dr. Jones was given the Outstanding Faculty Member Award by the TSU College of Education. She earned her EdD from the school at which she now teaches.

Karen Dunlap
Texas Woman's University

Dr. Dunlap was given the TWU Innovation in Academia Award. Her research interests include leadership development, teacher preparation, and organizational design.

Karen Paciotti
Texas A&M University at Corpus Christi

Dr. Paciotti was recently awarded the Texas A&M University System Award for Teaching Excellence. She earned her doctorate in educational leadership in 2004 from Stephen F. Austin State University.

Kathleen Tice
University of Texas at Arlington

The University of Texas recently gave Dr. Tice the Outstanding Teaching Award. In 1984, she earned her PhD in reading and English education from the University of Texas at Austin.

Keffrelyn Brown
University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Brown was a recipient of the University of Texas System Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award for 2012. She is a Fellow in the Lawrence and Stel Marie Lowman College of Education Endowed Excellence Fund.

Lyndal Bullock
University of North Texas

The Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children recently presented Dr. Bullock with the Distinguished Service Award. He is the director of the UNT Institute for Behavioral and Learning Differences.

Maria Luisa Gonzalez
University of Texas at El Paso

The University Council for Educational Administration recently named Dr. Gonzalez a Master Professor. She is an Associate Dean of the College of Education at UT El Paso.

Mary Morrison Bennett
Texas State University

The Texas State Office of the Provost recently gave Dr. Bennett the Presidential Award for Excellence in Service. She is an Associate Professor in the Professional Counseling Program at Texas State.

Michelle Bauml
Texas Christian University

The American Association for Teaching and Curriculum gave Dr. Bauml the John Laska Dissertation Award for her dissertation, “Toward the Wisdom of Practice: Curricular Decision Making among Novice Primary Grade Teachers in Standards-Based Schools.”

Paul Resta
University of Texas at Austin

Dr. Resta is the recipient of the U.S. Distance Learning Association Award for Outstanding Teaching in Higher Education. He’s the only Texas professor to earn the international University and Continuing Education Association National Distance Learning Course Award.

Roxanne Henkin
University of Texas at San Antonio

Dr. Henkin was named the 2012 Education Headliner by the Association for Women in Communications, San Antonio Chapter. Her research interests include confronting bullying through literacy, critical literacy for social justice, writing process and instruction, and in-service staff development in literacy.

Sara McNeil
University of Houston

The University of Houston presented Dr. McNeil with the Teaching Excellence Award for Distinguished Leadership in Teaching Excellence. She is the program coordinator for the Instructional Technology Graduate Program at UH.

Smita Mehta
University of North Texas

Dr. Mehta was recently given the UNT Faculty Teaching Excellence Award. She earned her PhD in Special Education from the University of Oregon.